Fitness Writings & Musings

fitness, Men's Physique, NPC

Ladies Fear Weights!!

coveredinsweat

Recently I’ve had a number of conversations with female friends and associates regarding their desire to “get tone.” Many of them have told me that they don’t want to “get all muscular,” “bulky,” and/or “look like a man.”

I typically dismiss these comments; however, they have started to bother me just a little recently. Maybe I’m a little sensitive to the topic because I’ve spent the better part of 7 months trying to bulk up and add muscle to my frame for the 2013 season. And, trust me when I tell you that building muscle is hard work!

The impression that I get from my friends is that they somehow believe that the simple act of lifting weight will cause them to look like a man. That’s almost like saying because you’ve read a book, then you’re a genius.

The reality is that lifting weight…even heavy weight will not transform you into a muscle-bound creature. It just doesn’t happen that way.

For the last 7+ months I have consumed approximately 5,300 calories per day. I’ve worked out 5-6 days per week and consumed 1.5-2 gallons of water per day. All and all, I’ve managed to gain ~50 pounds over my last contest weight. While not all of this is muscle, I have essentially transformed my physique through a combination of weight training, diet, rest and supplements (protein, BCAA, glutamine, creatine, etc.)

My point is that building muscle is HARD work and it doesn’t happen overnight.

Ladies if you’re reading this please, please don’t be afraid to weight train. Cardio alone will not transform your body! Weight training, however, can give you that tight, firm and sculpted look that you crave.

530694_316439001811012_1623303343_n

Regie Simmons
Facebook: www.facebook.com/Reginald.Simmons.Fitness
Team BodyFuse: http://www.bodyfuseusa.com/AP.aspx?ID=235&EID=26339890

facebook_-746811831

One comment on “Ladies Fear Weights!!

  1. Eric at Prime
    February 26, 2013

    Great Read!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 26, 2013 by in bodybuilding, fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .

bodybuilding, fitness, mens physique, regie, regie simmons

