Fitness Writings & Musings

fitness, Men's Physique, NPC

The Shrinking Man!

IMG_20130221_053131

I started the day at 5am this morning with a protein shake before heading to the airport to catch a flight to Philadelphia.  Like all of my business trips I packed my meals in a cooler, dropped the cooler into my carry-on and went out the door. I thought the day was going to be like any other—a plane ride followed by a routine meeting, followed by another plane ride home.

Today thankfully was a little different. I had never met this client before but we very quickly developed a rapport because of our love for fitness. My love, as you know, is weight training whereas his is running. I was amazed that he spoke of his love for running with much the same enthusiasm as I talk about weight training.

After a few moments, I learned that my new friend once weighed 300 lbs. And, as I stared at the image on the iPhone in my hand and at the man that stood before me I was amazing. It didn’t even look like the same person. The man that stood before me was 170 pounds and was the picture of health. He told me that he started running last year because he realized that he was heading down the same path that his father had traveled. His father, also a large man, suffered a heart attack in his early 50s. My friend recognized the signs and decided to take action. He started walking, then jogging then running. Before the end of 2012 he managed to run a marathon and has plans to run another this year.

In addition to his training we talk about the importance of diet. He and I both agreed that diet plays a huge role in developing a healthy body. He told me that he totally changed his diet by cutting out the unhealthy foods and focused on lean proteins and vegetables. As we talking I was reminded of an article that I am working on for RX Muscle (MensPhysique.com). In this article I focus on the problem of obesity and the critical role that protein plays in curbing hunger and controlling weight gain. As I discussed this article and the studies that substantiate it, I was struck again by the power of the human spirit.

Each of us possesses an amazing power—a power to shape and change our bodies to become what we want them to be. All we have to do is harness that power.

“Man often becomes what he believes himself to be. If I keep on saying to myself that I cannot do a certain thing, it is possible that I may end by really becoming incapable of doing it. On the contrary, if I have the belief that I can do it, I shall surely acquire the capacity to do it even if I may not have it at the beginning.” ~Mahatma Gandhi

Regie Simmons
Facebook: www.facebook.com/Reginald.Simmons.Fitness
Body Fuse Athlete: http://www.bodyfuseusa.com/AP.aspx?ID=235&EID=26339890

Image

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 21, 2013 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

bodybuilding, fitness, mens physique, regie, regie simmons

